HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Lets Talk HD Radio - I love the Sound Quality!!

HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby MitchJS on Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:16 pm

To dramaticly improve the audio, i found that the rca audio out gnd was floating above true ground
on a single ended design, prob should be at ground...

so...

buy adding this simple mod (grnding the RCAs)
solved my audio issues, now its perfect!!

MitchJS
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:54 am
Location: Phila, PA

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby MitchJS on Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:33 pm

Dont make this mod unless its needed....

a lot of people say, without it they are getting better performance

it will depend on the design of the audio input circuitry on what you're connecting this too

mitch
MitchJS
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:54 am
Location: Phila, PA

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby rgarjr on Sun Apr 13, 2008 4:32 pm

This mod worked great on my car audio setup. I had an annoying hissing sound even when the HD radio wasn't tunned on to a station. I grounded the unit like described here and noise is gone. Boom!
rgarjr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:52 pm

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby MitchJS on Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:59 pm

in some car installations, this mod will cause a ground loop!

mitch
MitchJS
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:54 am
Location: Phila, PA

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby peterfnet on Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:13 pm

Mitch,

Thanks for posting this info!! I've been having sound issues. I first figured out I have RFI from my computer destroying my reception. I thought it was just the reception, until I had poor audio quality with good reception! This led me to try your tip.

Here is a link to my troubleshooting thread on Streetdecks forum.

Here is a link to the YouTube video I posted showing the results of tapping RCA GND to chassis ground!

Peter
peterfnet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby MitchJS on Thu Jul 02, 2009 5:10 pm

peter good video...

sounds like u didn't buy the PC interface cable from me? cause right on my purchase page is a bold statement about the audio mod :)

good that u got it going... some RULES to follow


NEVER EXTEND the factory antenna lead more then 3feet!!!

keep the TUNER FAR FAR Away from the PC, PCs not meant to be in the car to begin with :), and have horrid RFI
and i bet thats not taken into account by power supply designers

extend the minidin8!!!! not the antenna!!!

also, amplified antennas.... u may NEVER get the reception of the quality the factory radio got... my suggestion there is put the factory radio back in
and call it that... course u could put a REAL 30" mast antenna on the car... that would work too :) some amplified antennas will work fine, some wont (typically in glass)

Mitch
MitchJS
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:54 am
Location: Phila, PA

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby peterfnet on Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:53 pm

Thanks Mitch,

Of course I bought the cable from you! I saw it listed on your page when I bought the cable, but I just thought it would correct a minor problem. I certainly didn't expect horrible distortion!!

Just working on getting your cable to play well with Streetdeck now.

I had the radio in the front seat and still had horrible reception while the computer is on. I have a power filter i'll be trying out soon. May have to eventually try a new PSU. Others have complained of problems with my PSmodel.
peterfnet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:58 pm
Location: Illinois

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby MitchJS on Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:15 pm

ah.... ok, from reading the post u made on sd forum, looks like u went though a lot of pain, before gnding the rcas :)


such a simple thing too..

damm, power supply
MitchJS
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:54 am
Location: Phila, PA

Re: HD Radio Audio Issue Modification!

Postby rosetaylor01 on Wed Sep 30, 2009 4:24 am

excellent MitchJS , thanks to give an idea to modify it. i changed RCA and now i get better quality of sound.
rosetaylor01
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:22 am


Return to HD Radio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

  • Login/Out
  • Login
    Username:

    Register
    Password:

    I forgot my password
    Resend activation e-mail
    Log me on automatically each visit
    Hide my online status this session

    In order to login you must be registered. Registering takes only a few moments but gives you increased capabilities. The board administrator may also grant additional permissions to registered users. Before you register please ensure you are familiar with our terms of use and related policies. Please ensure you read any forum rules as you navigate around the board.

    Terms of use | Privacy policy

cron